i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
fr

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
New release: “The ‘Pro-ANA’ Phenomenon. Eating disorders and social networks”
Posted on 23 September 2016

by Antonio Casilli and Paola Tubaro. Presses des mines. Collection i3.

The journey of the 2015 Health Bill in the French Parliament was marked by disagreements, indicative of the deep crisis of the health system in a major Western democracy. A most controversial measure planned to outlaw the promotion of extreme thinness and to punish authors of so-called “pro-ana” websites with jail time and hefty fines. Backed by associations of parents and health professionals, sociologists Antonio Casilli and Paola Tubaro fought this measure, until it was removed from the final version of the law. The book The “Pro-ana” Phenomenon: Eating Disorders and Social Networks, just published by Presses des Mines (in French), tells their story ...

What are “pro-ana” websites?

Websites and online communities of persons with eating disorders portray pain and distress without filters. Users can go as far as to describe their crises, their vomiting and their desire for an impossibly thin body – thereby earning from the media a reputation for "promoting anorexia" (shortened as “pro-ana”).

“At first sight, banning these websites might seem a good idea,” says Antonio Casilli, member of the Interdisciplinary Institute of Innovation (i3) at CNRS, and associate professor at Paris Institute of Technology and at EHESS in Paris. “But the consequences can be disastrous: in order to survive, these communities will go underground, thus becoming impenetrable to outreach initiatives by associations and healthcare professionals.”

Paola Tubaro, research scientist at the Laboratory for Computer Science Research (LRI) of CNRS, recalls: “In our effort to raise awareness among MPs, the main challenge was to reject the common perception of the internet as a place of threats and horrors... we could build on five years of research, which we conducted with our team, studying online social networks of persons with eating disorders.”

The results provide an unanticipated image of these stigmatized communities. With one notable surprise: the culprit is not internet’s tendency to unbridle speech, but the shortcomings of health systems in Western countries.

What if the true culprit were the cut in public health spending?

According to internet users surveyed by the authors of The “Pro-ana” Phenomenon, joining online communities centred on eating disorders is a way to address, as much as possible, the perceived shortcomings of the health system. Their online presence is all the more remarkable for those who live in “medical deserts” with more than an hour drive to the nearest healthcare facility.

A new picture emerges: “pro-ana” is less a form of internet deviance than a sign of a more general transformation of how we experience health. “With systematically underfunded health systems and cuts in public health budgets,” explains Antonio Casilli, “we all face the injunction to be 'active patients', informed and proactive. But the ensuing social pressure may cause paradoxical and risky behaviours.”

Members of the web communities labelled as “pro-ana” do not always aim to counter medical norms. Rather, they seek support for everyday life, after and beyond hospitalisation. These websites offer them an additional space for socialisation, where they form bonds of solidarity and mutual aid.

The solution, then, is not prison but strengthened provision of care. To do this, says Paola Tubaro, “Digital tools themselves can be exploited, especially by associations and health professionals, to offer complementary forms of support.”

 

A niche phenomenon with wider repercussions

In France, according to estimates by the professional association AFDAS-TCA, 600,000 people live with an eating disorder. The consequences are devastating: in particular, anorexia nervosa leads to the premature death of about 20% of those affected. Adolescent girls and young women are the most concerned, with increasing incidence among young men.

“Pro-ana” communities are not only an expression of these situation, but a prism through which broader issues can be apprehended: our present obsession with body image, our changing relationships with medical authorities, the crisis and deficit of our publich health systems, as well as the growing restrictions to our freedom of expression online.

Also, the “pro-ana” phenomenon reveals the difficulty of Western policymakers to come up with solutions to social and technological changes that slip dangerously from their grasp. Both authors agree: instead of seeing the “pro-ana” as problematic speech that should be silenced, we should think harder about the underlying social tensions that internet has helped bring to the surface.

Background information:

This book is based on the results of the research project ANAMIA, funded by the French National Research Agency (grant #ANR-09-ALIA-001).

An excerpt of the book (in French) is available in .pdf format.

 

About the authors:

Antonio A. Casilli, is an associate professor at The Telecommunication College of the Paris Institute of Technology (Télécom Paristech) and a research fellow at the EHESS, Paris. He is a member of the Interdisciplinary Institute of Innovation (i3) of the French CNRS. Among his books: Digital relationships [Les liaisons numériques] (Seuil 2010) and What is digital labor? [Qu’est-ce que le digital labor?] (INA 2015). His website, Twitter: @AntonioCasilli

Paola Tubaro, is a senior research scientist at the Laboratory for Computer Science Research (LRI) of the French CNRS. She teaches sociology of social networks at ENS, Paris, and is a visiting professor at the University of Greenwich, London. She has published in journals such as Social Networks, Revue Française de Sociologie, Sociological Research Online, Sociology. Her website, Twitter: @ptubaro

Close Menu

i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
en

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Chargement Évènements
  • Cet évènement est passé
Parution de « Le phénomène ‘pro ana’ Troubles alimentaires et réseaux sociaux »
Posté le 23 septembre 2016

de Antonio Casilli et Paola Tubaro. Presses des mines. Collection i3.

Le parcours de la Loi Santé en 2015 a été marqué par de vives controverses, symptômes des difficultés actuelles de notre système de santé. S’y inscrivait la création d’un « délit d’incitation à la maigreur extrême », avec peines de prison et amendes pour les auteurs des sites web dits « pro-ana ». Secondés par des associations de parents et de professionnels, les sociologues Antonio Casilli et Paola Tubaro se sont attachés à combattre cette mesure, jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit supprimée de la version finale de la loi. L’ouvrage Le phénomène « pro-ana » : Troubles alimentaires et réseaux sociaux, qui vient de paraître aux Presses des Mines, raconte leur histoire…

Qu’est-ce qu’un site « pro-ana » ?

Les sites web et les communautés en ligne de personnes atteintes de troubles des conduites alimentaires sont des lieux où la souffrance s’expose sans filtres. Les internautes peuvent aller jusqu’à décrire leurs crises, leurs vomissements, leurs envies d’un corps filiforme – ce qui dans les médias leur a valu l’accusation de « prôner l’anorexie » (pro-ana).

« De prime abord, la pénalisation de ces sites web pouvait paraître une bonne idée », dit Antonio Casilli, membre de l’Institut Interdisciplinaire de l’Innovation du CNRS (i3) et enseignant chercheur à Télécom ParisTech et à l’EHESS. « Mais les conséquences peuvent s’avérer désastreuses car, pour continuer à communiquer, ces communautés vont se cacher, devenant impénétrables aux messages des associations et des professionnels de la santé ».

Paola Tubaro, chercheuse au Laboratoire de Recherche en Informatique du CNRS (LRI), raconte : « Dans nos efforts de sensibilisation des élus, notre difficulté principale était de déjouer leurs idées reçues sur internet, lieu de toutes les menaces, de tous les fantasmes… nous avons pu nous appuyer sur cinq ans d’observations, que nous avons menées avec notre équipe, dans les méandres des réseaux sociaux d’internet ».

Les résultats de leur étude restituent une image inattendue de ces communautés stigmatisées. Avec une surprise notable : le coupable n’est pas la parole libérée sur Internet, mais les carences du système de santé.

Et si le vrai coupable était le trou de la sécu ?

Selon les internautes enquêtés par les auteurs du Phénomène « pro-ana », on devient membre de ces communautés en ligne pour pallier, tant que faire se peut, les manques ressentis du système de santé. Leur présence en ligne est d’autant plus remarquable qu’ils habitent des « déserts médicaux ».

Un retournement de perspective s’opère alors : le « pro-ana » constitue moins un dérapage d’internet, qu’il n’est le signe d’évolutions plus générales qui transforment notre manière de vivre la santé. « Face aux restrictions du budget de la sécurité sociale, aux politiques de rigueur », explique Antonio Casilli, « nous sommes tous confrontés à l’injonction d’être des ‘patients actifs’, informés, équipés. Mais la pression sociale qui en dérive peut engendrer des comportements paradoxaux et des prises de risque ».

L’objectif des membres de communautés web étiquetées comme « pro-ana » n’est pas toujours de contredire la norme médicale. Ils recherchent plutôt un accompagnement pour la vie quotidienne, au-delà du service hospitalier. Les sites web représentent alors un complément de socialité pour les personnes concernées, des espaces où peuvent se former des liens de solidarité et d’entraide.

Ce n’est donc pas la prison, mais un renforcement de l’offre de soins qu’il faut envisager. Pour ce faire, dit Paola Tubaro, « les outils numériques eux-mêmes peuvent être mis à profit, notamment par les associations et les professionnels de santé, afin de proposer des formes complémentaires d’accompagnement ».

Un phénomène de niche avec des retombées plus vastes

En France, selon les estimations de l’association professionnelle AFDAS-TCA, 600.000 personnes seraient concernées par les troubles des conduites alimentaires. Les conséquences de ces troubles sont dévastatrices : en particulier, l’anorexie mentale conduit au décès prématuré d’environ 20 % des personnes concernées. Les adolescentes et les jeunes femmes sont les plus touchées, avec une incidence croissante parmi les jeunes hommes.

Les communautés « pro-ana » ne sont pas seulement une expression de ces maladies, mais un prisme par lequel appréhender des enjeux plus généraux : l’obsession de l’image du corps, le rapport à l’autorité médicale, la crise et le déficit de l’assurance-santé, les contraintes qui pèsent désormais sur la liberté d’expression sur internet.

Aussi, le « pro-ana » met au jour la difficulté des élites politiques, en manque de solutions face à des changements sociaux et technologiques qui semblent les dépasser. Les deux auteurs sont unanimes : au lieu d’y voir des propos problématiques qu’il conviendrait de réduire au silence, prenons conscience des tensions sous-jacentes, que l’internet aide à faire apparaître.

Renseignements pratiques :

Cet ouvrage s’appuie sur les résultats du projet ANAMIA, qui a reçu une aide de l’Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR-09-ALIA-001).

Un extrait du livre est disponible.

A propos des auteurs :

Antonio A. Casilli, enseignant chercheur à Télécom ParisTech et à l’EHESS, membre de l’Institut interdisciplinaire de l’innovation (i3 CNRS). Parmi ses ouvrages : Les liaisons numériques (Seuil 2010) et Qu’est-ce que le digital labor ? (INA 2015). Son site web, Twitter @AntonioCasilli

Paola Tubaro, chargée de recherche au LRI, Laboratoire de Recherche Informatique du CNRS. Elle enseigne la sociologie des réseaux sociaux à l’ENS. Elle a publié dans des revues comme Social Networks, Revue Française de Sociologie, Sociological Research Online, Sociology. Son site web, Twitter : @ptubaro

Fermer le menu