i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
fr

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Workshop “Labelling and the politics of markets”
Posted on 27 September 2016

October 6 - 7, organized by Alexandre Mallard and Brice Laurent (CSI-i3), Eva Boxenbaum (CGS-i3), Véronique Beillan and Aurélie Tricoire (CSTB)

Labelling products and services has become a customary practice over the past decades. A label may signify that the good is endorsed by specific actors, compatible with various technical requirements, compliant with particular regulations, or deemed better than comparable products. Labelling belongs to the market practices that introduce in transactions other actors than buyers and sellers, other concerns than prices and preferences. It enacts specific orderings of the market, jointly drawing on the dynamics of mimicry (it puts similar goods in a single category) and differentiation (it shows the goods that deserve to be distinguished). Yet the interest of social scientists for labelling goes much beyond its economic characteristics as such. Doesn’t labelling speak for the fact that “there is something beyond the economic in the market”? Isn’t it a way to infuse politics in the economy?

The plural political dimensions of labelling

Social science research has investigated the plural political dimensions of labelling. Labelling a product in reference to its origin may also indicate that it is rooted in a given socio-political territory. Labelling a product in relationship with a production method introduces in the consumption process concerns that go beyond consumption itself: conforming to social and ethical considerations in the product chain (for instance in fair trade), supporting a local economy (“made in France”), fighting for the right of specific populations or animals (“free range farming”), caring for the future of the planet (for instance in the eco-labels), etc.

The political dimensions of labelling extend beyond consumption practices to the processes that shape markets exchanges and the devices supporting them. In a number of situations, labelling appears as a public policy instrument mobilized for the sake of general political objectives (health care, sustainable development, education…).

The political intervention of private actors and  NGOs through labelling

However, when labelling is supported by private actors and plays roles traditionally allocated to public regulation, it would signify the withdrawal of the state in the organization of the economy. In other situations, labels can be seen as platforms enabling cooperation between public and private actors (for instance in the construction sector, where labels support innovation), or the coordination of different levels of public action (for instance in urban policies, labelling is used by the State as a tool to promote best practices implemented by local authorities). Apart from the State properly speaking, labels appear as a central tool in the strategies implemented by “roundtables” assembling coalitions of various actors (NGOs, lobbies of manufacturers, representatives of consumers, independent experts, etc).

A number of  issues to investigate

How to apprehend the diversity of labelling practices and their political inscription in the market? How do labels emerge in connection with political processes and economic dynamics? How do public authorities try to shape the constitution of labels and control their trajectory? How does labelling compare – and combine – with other modalities of political intervention in the economy? How to characterize the type of governmentality associated with labels? How do activists use, design, contest labels in order to promote their particular political objectives? How do consumers decipher the meanings of labels and the political or economic strategies associated with their development? How do labels support the development of multiple – political, moral, social…– modalities of valuation in the market? As a whole, the workshop invites to reflect on the role of labelling in the democratic processes, against the background of the contemporary transformations of the economy, sustainable development and the uncertainties of globalization.

A workshop to prepare a publication

It is this diversity of configurations that the workshop “Labelling and the politics of markets” addresses. The workshop is organized within the LaPIn Project, a French ANR project exploring the role of labels in the promotion of innovation for sustainable construction. The workshop aims to share and discuss recent research on labelling conducted in a diversity of domains and mobilizing various analytic tools, in the perspective of preparing a common publication project (edited collection or special issue of a journal).

Participants are invited to propose contributions questioning the role of labels at the crossroads of the socio-political inscription of markets and the implications of technical democracy. The contributions may come from various disciplinary perspective (sociology, organization studies, political science, STS, market studies…) and they should explore the role of labelling in the politics of markets in specific fields and through specific modalities of investigation.

   

Close Menu

i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
en

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Chargement Évènements
  • Cet évènement est passé
Workshop « Labelling and the politics of markets »
Posté le 27 septembre 2016

6 & 7 octobre, organisé par Alexandre Mallard et Brice Laurent (CSI-i3), Eva Boxenbaum (CGS-i3), Véronique Beillan et Aurélie Tricoire (CSTB)

La labellisation de produits et de services est devenue une pratique courante depuis un certain nombre d’années. Un label peut marquer le fait que le produit est reconnu par des acteurs spécifiques, qu’il est compatible avec différentes exigences techniques, qu’il est conforme à certains législations, ou réputé meilleur que des produits comparables.

La labellisation fait partie de ces pratiques de marché qui introduisent dans les transactions d’autres acteurs que les acheteurs et les vendeurs, d’autres préoccupations que les prix et les préférences. Elle produit des mises en ordre spécifiques du marché, s’appuyant à la fois sur une dynamique de mimétisme (elle met des biens similaires dans une même catégorie) et de différenciation (elle met en évidence les biens qui méritent d’être distingués).

Pourtant, l'intérêt des chercheurs en sciences sociales pour la labellisation va bien au-delà de ses caractéristiques économiques en tant que telles. La labellisation ne témoigne-t-elle pas du fait qu’ « il y a quelque chose au-delà de l'économique sur le marché »? N’est-ce pas un moyen d'insuffler de la politique dans l'économie?

Les dimensions politiques plurielles de la labellisation

La recherche en sciences sociales s’est intéressée aux dimensions politiques plurielles de la labellisation. Une certification sur l’origine d’un produit peut aussi renvoyer au fait qu’il vient d’un territoire avec certaines spécificités socio-politiques. Un label qui porte sur une méthode de production introduit dans la sphère de la consommation certaines préoccupations qui vont au delà de la consommation elle-même : dimensions éthiques et sociales (commerce équitable), soutien à l’économie locale (« made in France »), droits des animaux (« élevage en plein air »), avenir de la planète (eco-labels) etc.

Au delà des pratiques de consommation, les dimensions politiques de la labellisation s’étendent aux processus qui mettent en forme les échanges sur les marchés et aux dispositifs qui les rendent possibles Dans un certain nombre de situations, la labellisation apparaît comme un instrument de politique publique qui est mobilisé au bénéfice d’objectifs politiques généraux (santé, développement durable, éducation …).

La labellisation, un moyen d'intervention politique approprié par les acteurs privés et les ONG

Mais quand elle est portée par des acteurs privés qui s’approprient le rôle traditionnel de la régulation publique, elle peut être interprétée comme un signe du retrait de l’Etat de l’organisation économique. Dans d’autres situations, les labels sont vus comme des plateformes qui rendent possible la coopération entre les acteurs publics et privés (par exemple dans le secteur de la construction, dans lequel les labels soutiennent l’innovation), ou la coordination de différents niveaux d’action publique (par exemple dans les politiques urbaines, les labels sont utilisés par l’Etat comme un outil pour promouvoir les « best practices » mises en place par les autorités locales). En dehors de l’Etat au sens strict, les labels apparaissent comme un outil central au profit des stratégies mises en place par des coalitions rassemblant des acteurs variés (ONG, syndicats de fabricants, représentants de consommateurs, experts indépendants, etc.)

Une variété de questions à explorer

Comment appréhender la diversité de pratiques de labellisation et leur inscription politique dans le marché ? Comment les labels émergent-ils en lien avec des processus politiques et des dynamiques économiques ? Comment les autorités publiques essaient-elles de peser sur la constitution des labels et de contrôler leur devenir ? Comment la labellisation se compare-t-elle – voire se combine-t-elle – avec d’autres modalités d’intervention politique sur l’économie ? Comment caractériser les formes de gouvernementalité associées aux labels ? Comment les militants utilisent-ils, conçoivent-ils, contestent-ils les labels afin de promouvoir leur objectifs politiques particuliers ? Comment les consommateurs appréhendent-ils les significations des labels et les stratégies économiques et politiques associées à leur développement ? Comment les labels soutiennent-ils le développement de modalités multiples – politique, morale, sociale – de valuation à l’intérieur des marchés ?

Le workshop invite à réfléchir sur le rôle de la labellisation dans les processus démocratiques, dans le contexte des transformations contemporaines de l’économie, du développement durable et des incertitudes de la globalisation.

Un workshop pour préparer une publication commune

C’est à cette diversité de configurations que s’intéresse le workshop « Labelling and the politics of markets ». Le workshop est organisé dans le cadre du projet LaPIn, projet ANR qui explore le rôle des labels dans la promotion de l’innovation pour la construction durable. Le workshop a pour objectif de favoriser l’échange et la discussion autour des recherches récentes sur la labellisation, dans la perspective de préparer une publication commune (livre collectif ou numéro spécial d’une revue).

Les participants sont invités à proposer des contributions interrogeant le rôle des labels au croisement de l’inscription socio-politique des marchés et des implications de la démocratie technique. Les contributions peuvent venir de différentes disciplines (sociologie, organization studies, science politique, STS, market studies …) et elles peuvent explorer le rôle de la labellisation dans la politique des marchés sur des domaines particuliers et au travers de modalités spécifiques d’investigation.

 

Fermer le menu