i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
fr

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Richness of nature and poverty of nations. An essay on the curse of the mining and oil rents in Africa
Posted on 17 October 2016

A book by Jamal Azizi, Pierre-Noël Giraud, Timothée Ollivier, Paul-Hervé Tamokoué Kamga.

By 2050, Africa’s population will reach 2.5 billion, 200 million more than all of South Asia, while the population of China will be capped at 1.3 billion and that of all Europe-North America close to 1 billion people. In 2100, Africans will be 4.5 billion out of 11 billion people.

Therefore, the main challenge of this century is the emergence of sustainable Africa: Green Revolution, industrialization, urbanization (with an additional 900 millions urbanites in sub-Saharan Africa by 2050).

One of the major obstacles to this sustainable emergence is that many African states are hit by the “curse of mining and oil rents”: inequities in the sharing of the benefits between the states and the mining and oil operators, corruption and waste of public funds, stagnation of the non-financial sectors, uncontrolled urbanization and often, civil war…

This essay offers a thorough analysis of the situation and the ways to remedy it. The book is divided into three parts. The first part, theoretical, presents an economic analysis of the sharing and use of the mining and oil rents, of why prices and rents fluctuate and of the effects of these fluctuations. It lists and articulates the multiple facets of the curse and proposes a categorization of rentier states.

The second part, empirical, presents and comments on the numerous econometric studies that tried to verify and quantify the mechanisms of the curse. It offers an original study of the impacts of the rents on agriculture and urbanization in Africa.

The third part is a case study of eleven African countries, their mining and/or oil history, sharing and use of the rent within them. It offers a detailed illustration of the vicious circles of the curse, but also the “good practice” to fight it. The book concludes with a few recommendations aimed to rule out the curse.

To read an exerpt

The authors:

Jamal Azizi, researcher at the Chair in “Commodity Economics, Finance and Management”, Mines ParisTech, PSL Research University.

Pierre-Noël Giraud, Professor of economics at Mines ParisTech and Dauphine, PSL Research University, Chair of “Commodity Economics, Finance and Management”

Timothée Ollivier, former student at École normale supérieure de Lyon, engineer in water and forests, and PhD in economics, works for an industrial group in the energy sector.

Paul-Hervé Tamokoué Kamga, researcher at CERNA (Centre d’économie industrielle, Mines ParisTech), PSL Research University.

 

Presses des mines de Paris. Pour acheter le livre

Close Menu

i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
en

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Chargement Évènements
  • Cet évènement est passé
Richesses de la nature et pauvreté des nations. Essai sur la malédiction de la rente minière et pétrolière en Afrique.
Posté le 17 octobre 2016

Un livre de Jamal Azizi, Pierre-Noël Giraud, Timothée Ollivier, Paul-Hervé Tamokoué Kamga.

Dès 2050, l’Afrique comptera 2,5 milliards d’hommes, soit 200 millions de plus que toute l’Asie du sud, alors que la population de la Chine aura plafonné à 1,3 milliards et celle de l’ensemble Europe-Amérique du nord autour de 1 milliard. En 2100, les Africains seront 4,5 milliards sur 11 milliards d’hommes.

Le défi principal de ce siècle est donc l’émergence soutenable de l’Afrique : révolution verte, industrialisation, urbanisation (900 millions d’urbains supplémentaires en Afrique sub-saharienne d’ici 2050).

Un des obstacles majeurs à cette émergence soutenable est qu’un grand nombre d’États africains sont frappés de la « malédiction des rentes minières et pétrolières » : partage inéquitable des rentes entre États et opérateurs, corruption et gaspillage des fonds publics, stagnation des secteurs non rentiers, urbanisation non maîtrisée et, bien souvent, guerre civile…

Cet essai propose une analyse approfondie de la situation et des moyens d’y remédier. Il s’organise en trois parties.

La première, théorique, est une analyse économique du partage et de l’usage des rentes minières et pétrolières, des raisons pour lesquelles les prix et les rentes fluctuent et des effets de ces fluctuations. Elle recense et articule les multiples facettes de la malédiction et propose une catégorisation des États rentiers.

La deuxième partie, empirique, présente et commente les nombreuses études économétriques qui ont tenté de vérifier et de quantifier les mécanismes de la malédiction. Elle propose une étude originale des effets des rentes sur l’agriculture et l’urbanisation en Afrique.

La troisième partie est une étude du cas de onze pays africains, de leur histoire minière et/ou pétrolière, du partage et de l’usage de la rente en leur sein. Sont ainsi illustrés en détail les cercles vicieux de la malédiction, mais aussi les « bonnes pratiques » qui la combattent. L’ouvrage se termine par quelques recommandations visant à écarter la malédiction.

Lire un extrait

Les auteurs:

Jamal Azizi, chercheur à la chaire « Économie, finance et gestion des commodités », Mines ParisTech, PSL Research University.

Pierre-Noël Giraud, professeur d’économie à Mines ParisTech et à Dauphine, PSL Research University, titulaire de la chaire « Économie, finance et gestion des commodités ».

Timothée Ollivier, ancien élève de l’École normale supérieure de Lyon, ingénieur des Eaux et forêts et docteur en économie, travaille au sein d’un groupe industriel du secteur de l’énergie.

Paul-Hervé Tamokoué Kamga, chercheur au Cerna (Centre d’économie industrielle, Mines ParisTech), PSL Research University.

Presses des mines de Paris. Pour acheter le livre

Fermer le menu