i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
fr

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Capitalization, a cultural guide
Posted on 18 January 2017

What does it mean to turn something into capital? What does considering things as assets entail? What does the prevalence of an investor’s viewpoint require? What is this culture of valuation that asks that we capitalize on everything? How can we make sense of the traits, necessities and upshots of this pervasive cultural condition?

An ethnographic stroll down the trail of capitalization.

Start-up companies, research centers, consulting firms, state enterprises, investment banks, public administrations: the territory can certainly prove strange and disorienting at first sight, with its blurred boundaries between private appropriation and public interest, economic sanity and moral breakdown, the literal and the metaphorical, the practical and the ideological.

The traveler certainly requires a resolutely pragmatist attitude, and a taste for the meanders of signification. But in all the sites in which we set foot in this inquiry we recognize a recurring semiotic complex: a scenario of valuation in which things signify by virtue of their capacity to become assets in the eye of an imagined investor.

A ground-breaking anthropological investigation on the culture of contemporary capitalism, this work directs attention to the largely unexplored problem of capitalization and offers a critical resource for current debates on neoliberalism and financialization.

Authors: Fabian Muniesa, Liliana Doganova, Horacio Ortiz, Álvaro Pina-Stranger, Florence Paterson, Alaric Bourgoin, Véra Ehrenstein, Pierre-André Juven, David Pontille, Başak Saraç-Lesavre et Guillaume Yon, contributing with research works conducted at the Centre de Sociologie de l'Innovation (CSI).

Pour acheter le livre

Pour lire un extrait

Close Menu

i3, une unité mixte de recherche CNRS (UMR 9217)
en

Institut Interdisciplinaire de l'Innovation

Chargement Évènements
  • Cet évènement est passé
Capitalization, a cultural guide
Posté le 18 janvier 2017

Que signifie transformer quelque chose en capital ? Que suppose le fait de considérer les choses comme des actifs ? Que requiert la prévalence d'un point de vue d'investisseur ? En quoi consiste cette culture qui exige que l'on capitalise sur tout ? Comment faire sens des traits et contraintes de cette condition culturelle ?

Une promenade ethnographique sur les sentiers de la capitalisation.

Start-ups technologiques, centres de recherches, boîtes de conseil, entreprises publiques, banques d'investissement, départements ministériels : le territoire ainsi couvert peut paraître confus à première vue, avec ses frontières floues entre appropriation privée et intérêt public, entre vertu économique et fracture morale, entre le littéral et le métaphorique, entre le pratique et l'idéologique.

Le voyageur a certainement besoin d'une attitude résolument pragmatiste, et un goût pour les obscurs méandres du sens. Mais dans tous les sites visités dans cette enquête nous reconnaissons un complexe sémiotique récurrent : un scénario de valorisation dans lequel les choses signifient en vertu de leur capacité à devenir des actifs du point de vue d'un investisseur imaginé.

Une enquête anthropologique radicale sur la culture du capitalisme contemporain

Ce travail dirige l'attention vers le terrain largement inexploré de la capitalisation, et offre une ressource critique pour les débats actuels sur financiarisation et néolibéralisme.

Le collectif d'auteurs est composé de Fabian Muniesa, Liliana Doganova, Horacio Ortiz, Álvaro Pina-Stranger, Florence Paterson, Alaric Bourgoin, Véra Ehrenstein, Pierre-André Juven, David Pontille, Başak Saraç-Lesavre et Guillaume Yon, contribuant avec des recherches menées au Centre de Sociologie de l'Innovation (CSI).

Pour acheter le livre

Pour lire un extrait

Fermer le menu